What Do Men Carry in Their Pockets…and WHY?

PocketI was stuck in the “Gotta have my coffee!” drive-thru this morning behind a guy who was clearly having trouble finding his “that’ll be $3.73″ in his pockets.  C’mon, you’ve been that guy!  You’re at the window, and either your wallet’s caught in your pants or you can’t quite reach that nickel wedged in the corner of your khakis so you have your feet braced on the floor and your butt lifted off the seat in order to crook two fingers into your pocket to get better access.  Yeah, you know the pose…and I was trapped behind that guy.

But it got me to thinking……….What do men carry in their pockets and why?

Now, let me be honest, I’ve always been fascinated with what men keep in their pockets. And ladies, you know you’ve asked a man at least once what’s in his pockets—-or else you’ve examined all the crap he tossed onto the dresser at the end of the day.  Yeah, I’m that chick too. Ever since I was knee-high to my daddy’s thigh, I’ve wanted to know what was in his pockets.   All of my life, my daddy’s pockets have contained a nail clipper, Chapstick and four quarters. Why this stuff? Well, I assume he’s metrosexual (don’t tell him I said that) about his nails and skin, and the four quarters are from the days of pay phones.  He always wanted to have change in case of an emergency.  Why he still carries the quarters, I don’t know, because he’s a 65-year old iPhone wizard, but hey…maybe one day the network will go down…..

At any rate, my brother pays homage and follows in my dad’s footsteps by carrying the exact same stuff.  My grandfather always carried an actual buckeye…even though he was from Arkansas. He said it was for good luck.  My first love, for years, carried the first letter I ever wrote to him…and a toothpick.  I always imagined him as that guy wrapping that letter around the toothpick and staking his claim….

An artist friend of mine never leaves home without a gel pen and a pacifier….he’s a dad of four and who knows when or where creativity will strike! I met a guy once who carried a bedazzled bobby pin in his pocket.  It was his greatest pickup line ever.  After he’d said a basic hello to a woman, he’d lay the pin on the hard space between them and tell her she’d need it later to pin up her hair for a long night of dancing.  He stated it never failed, the shiny rhinestones always grabbed her attention and women are naturally intrigued by a man who can dance.  I have to admit, even with my short short hairstyle, I had a momentary flash of myself on the dance floor with that pin in my hair!

What I also have learned over the years is that men are creatures of habit. They unanimously carry their cell phones, drivers licenses, credit cards, Chapstick and sometimes cash. At the end of the day, those things make us women feel safe somehow…and that’s really why I want to know what’s in a man’s pocket. I suspect it’s why every woman wants to know….

So fellas, the next time the sweet thing in your life asks  about what’s in your pocket….this video says it all:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qrwwM1Hgwk

She really just wants to know that you can take care of her.

7 thoughts on “What Do Men Carry in Their Pockets…and WHY?

So what do YOU think?

